Listen Live

On Air Now

Current Weather

Type O Negative

Type O Negative was a gothic / doom metal band formed in Brooklyn, New York, US in 1990. They are well known for their dry, morbid and ironic sense of humor and their often slow and brooding music. "The Drab Four" (the nickname Type O Negative gave themselves) always succeeded in keeping their own unique style, mixing melodic, classic rock 'n' roll with slow, doom-like vibes, and down-tuned heavy metal guitar riffs with dark soundscapes. They were also known for doom metal riffs, deep bass lines, heavy but usually slow drums and bass-range vocals of gothic metal. Lead singer Peter Steele described their music as "bad songs written on a Tuesday night."

The two main influences on the band are the Beatles and Black Sabbath, and keyboardist Josh Silver has expressed a love of Pink Floyd--evidence of which can be heard in the atmospherics of his production techniques.

The band arose from the ashes of the band Carnivore and gained popularity with their songs "Black No. 1" and "Christian Woman" from the Bloody Kisses album. The album was the first in Roadrunner Records' catalog to go both gold and platinum. They have successfully toured with Pantera, Life of Agony, and dozens of other established and up-and-coming bands, as well as taking part in Ozzfest. The band had VHS and DVD documentary releases in addition to their CD releases and contributions to movie soundtracks and compilations.

Steele died of sepsis caused by diverticulitis (initially reported as heart failure) on April 14 2010 at the age of 48.

Singles and video-featured songs

Black No. 1 - 1993
Christian Woman - 1993
Cinnamon Girl - 1996
Everyone I Love Is Dead - 1999
Everything Dies - 1999
I Don't Wanna Be Me - 2003
Love You to Death - 1996
My Girlfriend's Girlfriend - 1996
Profits of Doom - 2007
September Sun - 2007
Summer Breeze - 1993


Slow, Deep and Hard - 1991
Origin of The Feces - 1992
Bloody Kisses - 1993
October Rust- 1996
World Coming Down - 1999
Life Is Killing Me - 2003
Dead Again - 2007


Peter Steele - Vocals, bass guitar and songwriting (1990-2010)
Josh Silver - Keyboards (1990-2010)
Kenny Hickey - Guitar and backing vocals (1990-2010)
Johnny Kelly - Drums (1994-2010)
Sal Abruscato - Drums (1990-1993) User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.