Listen Live

On Air Now

Jazz After Midnight
Midnight - 6:00am

Current Weather

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit

Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit is an American southern rock/ alt-country band based in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and led by Jason Isbell, a former member of the Drive-By Truckers. The 400 Unit is Derry deBorja (keyboards), Jimbo Hart (bass) and Browan Lollar (guitar). Matt Pence (Centro-matic/South San Gabriel) lends his talents as co-producer, drummer and engineer.

The album, which was released in 2009, was co-produced by Isbell and The 400 Unit with Matt Pence. “I want it to be known that it’s a band record,” says Isbell. “I want it to be known that it’s something we all did together. Even though I wrote the songs, it was a very inclusive project.” Isbell has posted the new track, “Seven-Mile Island,” on the band’s MySpace site.

The album was recorded at the renowned FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, AL. Isbell, who Details Magazine calls “one of America’s best young songwriters,” is following in the tradition of American songwriters who have recorded in North Alabama. Much like Arthur Alexander, Eddie Hinton and Spooner Oldham, Isbell mixes a soulful vocal style with songs that are passionate and unrepentant in their sense of place and direct in their stubborn Southerness.

Isbell is known for his songwriting, in particular his storytelling about common folks from the South and their perspectives on life. Whether it's a song about a marriage on the rocks because of a soldier's PTSD in "Soldiers Get Strange" or a narrator relating his inner thoughts as a bar closes in "Streetlights," Isbell provides the inner lives of characters that connect to listeners because of his honest and sometimes darkly humorous lyrics. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.